The Fault In Our Stars

Speaking of how we relate to people…

Have you read The Fault In Our Stars by John Green yet? Do not tell me that you don’t read young adult fiction, because I don’t either. Except for The Hunger Games and Harry Potter and apparently John Green.

Image

Side note : Did you know that John Green voted for Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets in a “best young adult novel ever” poll put on by Entertainment Weekly (still my shameless guilty pleasure) even though his own book was one of the four finalists (along with To Kill a Mockingbird and The Perks of Being a Wallflower)? Because he credits Potter in his own success.

Back to my main point: have you read this book? Let me sell it to you: it is a tragically sad love story about high school aged kids with cancer, who have insight far beyond their years but is completely believable in their story. It is one of the saddest books I’ve ever read. Ever. I read it in two nights. The first night, I cried some. The second, I never stopped crying. I kept having to put the book down to clean up all the snot I had everywhere and because I was crying so much I couldn’t see the words on the page. But I could not stop. And honestly, even though the main character is a 16 year old girl, I didn’t realize it was a young adult novel until the 2nd night, half way through it, when I happened to see the genre listed on the back and I thought “What? Why I am so emotionally involved in a YA novel? I don’t care I just have to know what happens.” After I finished it, it was in my car for a few days before I had a chance to take it back to the library. One of those days I found myself with a 10 minute wait while sitting in my car. I picked it up and re-read the last few pages. And cried my eyes out again.

This was a book I put on Katie’s required summer reading list (Katie is a teacher and doesn’t get to read much during the school year but I give her a list before the start of every summer and she gets through as many as she can). She texted me late one night during the summer while at the beach with a large group of family and friends and said “I just want you to know that everyone is out there having fun and I am alone in the bedroom with this book crying so hard and I am not far from the end but I just have to stop and go be with my family.” It was one of my favorite texts all year.

I read it back early in the year, so I honestly can’t bring to mind too many specific details, though I could pull out a few if we were chatting about it in person. But the whole story is there in my memory, in its hauntingly beautiful way.

If you see the movie next year and you don’t read the book first…well you probably shouldn’t talk to me about it. Ok, so put your hands on a copy and read it. Tell me when you’re done, and then when the movie comes out we’ll all talk about whether we liked it or not. Deal? Good.

One thing: if you are already in a sad place, this is not the book for you. I suggest reading this when you are feeling emotionally stable in the rest of your life.

2 comments on “The Fault In Our Stars

  1. I am still recovering from The Book Thief. I definitely want to read this on in 2014. I will have my handkerchief at the ready!

  2. […] Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Already reviewed here. This was the year of John Green for me. I’m ok with that. Please please tell me if you read […]

Leave a Reply

